Looking at Rastafari 

This week, for one of my modules, we looked at ‘The Harder They Come‘, a famous Jamaican film in the context of how film and music can have similar effects as written literature. Why this is important is because it made me realise that there is a lot we do not know about Jamaica and what has been happening there. Also, there is a lot most of us do not know about raggae and where it comes from and although we associated it with Rastafari, we tend to believe that raggae is what defines them. Well, first of all, they are not just a cultural movement, but a religion. I myself was not aware of this until recently. So after finding this out I thought that I should research it and see what it actually is about. I like Bob Marley and now Jimmy Cliff but maybe ‘liking’ the way something sounds is not enough and we need to pay attention to the lyrics. I won’t start a political rant but I will mention that reggae is surprisingly relatable regardless of your race or nationally and Rastafaris are actually happy so many people have embraced it. 

 Anyway, while doing my research I found this documentary which is informative and brings together both the views of academics and of the common people who have witnessed the beginnings of this religious movement. The documentary is 1 hour long but if you are interested it won’t be a waste of time. 

M.M.

https://youtu.be/hakAKzMGJTM 

Leave a Reply

