Thoughts on racism

I would first like to say that this is not how I intended to start my blog but after seeing this on Facebook I could not help but say something about it.

First of all, I fully appreciate this girl and the message she is trying to spread. As a white person I have always felt like saying these things would make me the target of hate and would create a bad public image. I have never felt above a person of a different race and in my opinion we are all the same . Our different coloured skins are the product of melanin and nothing more. But I cannot help but feel threatened by what the modern society has created through its constantly offended state. I do feel like my right to an opinion is taken away when discussing any topic that is related to people of colour, because I know that if I say something wrong I will be guilt tripped and called a racist. This I am not.

I am aware of the history of black people in America, I am aware of the horrors of slavery. I come from a place where we did not have black slaves or ever intended to get them. I come from a place where people did their own work with their own hands as much as their power allowed them. We have not been taught to see others as lesser beings because of their differences. We do make fun of each other, we do call each other ‘silly’ names, but this applies to everyone.

At all the schools I attended in England, and now at University, I was and am surrounded by a variety of people from multiple cultures. I embrace this and find it as a big opportunity to learn about people and places. The degree I have chosen encourages us to embrace this multiplicity of languages and cultures and this is why I chose do to it.

So please understand, just because I am white it does not mean I am racist. And I am not the only one who thinks this way. But just because you are not white it does not mean you cannot be racist. And apparently I am not the only one who thinks this way.

M.

Leave a Reply

